Tag Archive: the Copa America 2019

Everything you need to know about the Copa America 2019

This summer, the South American grass fields will be exciting with fire matches and the pinnacle of the Copa America 2019. Let’s have a look at the interesting things of this tournament.

What is the Copa America 2019?

Copa America, also known as the South American Football Championship, is the official international football tournament for national teams in South America. The tournament is held every 4 years on odd years and this year 2019 is the 46th tournament to be held.

Where will the Copa America 2019 take place?

Brazil is the host country of the Copa America 2019. This will be the 5th time of this country to have had the honor to be chosen as the host of Copa America, previously in 1919, 1922, 1949, and 1989.

There will be 6 stadiums in five cities of Brazil organizing the 2019 Copa America matches:

  • Rio de Janeiro – Estádio do Maracanã
  • Belo Horizonte – Estádio Mineirão
  • Sao Paulo – Estádio do Morumbi
  • Sao Paulo – Arena Corinthians
  • Porto Alegre – Arena do Grêmio
  • Salvador – Itaipava Arena Fonte Nova

When will the Copa America 2019 take place?

According to the 2019 Copa America schedule, the tournament will start on June 14, 2019 and the final will take place on July 7, 2019.

Which teams will be taking part in the Copa America 2019?

The ten nations including Brazil, Venezuela, Peru, Paraguay, Uruguay, Bolivia, Argentina, Colombia, Ecuador and Chile, which form the South American Football Federation (CONMEBOL) plus Qatar and Japan from Asia. The last two have been invited by CONMEBOL to be the guest teams as a tradition since 1993.

When is the next tournament organized?

2019 will be the last time that this tournament will be held in odd years. From 2020 onwards, the Copa America will be held on the same year as the UEFA Euro Championship.

The Copa America 2020 is planned to be held in Argentina and Colombia between June 12 and July 12, 2020.